Oct 15 2008
Final Election Tally
Wednesday, 15 October 2008

Final_Election_Results (PDF)

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it

             The Kodiak Island Borough municipal election results are final. The canvass board count was released Wednesday afternoon, and is due to be certified by the borough assembly at Thursday night's regular meeting.

            Voter turn out was 26 percent borough-wide, with 2,477 people casting ballots. That's just a little bit higher than last year's municipal election where 22 percent turned out.

            There were no surprises from the results reported the Friday after the election, though the margins have changed.

            Elected to three, three-year terms on the borough assembly are incumbent Sue Jeffrey with 1,558 votes, new-comer Judy Fulp with 1,623 votes, and Dave Kaplan with 349 votes. Kaplan waged a write-in campaign after nobody filed to run for that seat. Thursday night will be the last meeting on the assembly for Tom Abell and Reed Oswalt, as the new assembly will be sworn in tonight and officially take office Monday morning.


            School Board incumbent Peggy Rauwolf received 1,676 votes, while incumbent Jeff Stephan (steven) got 1,485. Write-in candidate Petal Ruch had 242 votes for the single one-year seat on the board. Monday will be the last meeting for school board president Betty Odell.


            Mike Dolph had 830 votes in re-election for a three-year term on Fire Protection Area 1, while write-in candidate Dan Canavan had 14.

            In Service Area 1, Scott Arndt had 15 votes, Kevin Arndt had 14, and Sharon Lea Adinolfi (add-in-all-fee) had 11.

            Reed Oswalt was elected to the Bayview Road Service Area Board with 8 votes.

            In the Women's Bay Service Area, which was the one election in the borough with a full slate of candidates, David Heuman had 162 votes, John Isadore 150, and Scott Griffin had 149.

            There was a tie among write-in candidates for the one, three-year seat on the Monashka Bay Road Service Area, with Mark Withrow and Chaz Glagolich each receiving four votes. Withrow's name was drawn from a hat and has won the seat.


            The final numbers for the two proposition had the financial disclosure changes for borough officials go down 1,212 votes to 1,160. The vote on Prop 2, which would have authorized the sale of 115-million dollars of bonds for a new high school, there were 1,432 NO votes and 971 yes votes.


             Click on the PDF link at the top of this story for the official count, including the scores of write-ins that got a smattering of votes.